Anniversary

This post is part of  A to Z Challenge for April 2016. For letter A , I am choosing ANNIVERSARY.

Anniversary
Image courtesy : google

A to Z Challenge April 2016: A for Anniversary

This month Preeth and I will be completing 11 years of our marriage. No, I am not going to write about my plans for the anniversary. Instead, today  I am going to write about our wedding anniversary last year. Both Preeth and I are not the types who like to plan parties, give expensive gifts or plan trips to exotic locations to celebrate the special occasion. Neither of us show much excitement about our anniversary beyond wishing each other ‘happy anniversary’.

For our 10th Wedding anniversary last year, just few days before the anniversary I jokingly asked Preeth if he had been planning on buying me an expensive gift to mark 10 years of togetherness. Preeth’s instant reply was that I could ask for anything I’d wish for the anniversary and by this he meant I could have jewellery or  cosmetics or any such thing that ladies normally like to receive as gifts. That was generous but just to pull Preeth’s legs further I said these things are boring and for putting up with him for TEN years I deserve much more. Preeth smiled and was perhaps wondering what to say in repartee but by then I made a statement which at the time I intended to mean only as a joke and nothing more, although, from deep within I knew if ever it materialised I would be the happiest woman on earth. All I said was that if ever Preeth really wanted to gift me something genuine then that would be to relocate to India for good. You see, that was just a light hearted joke and so both of us laughed it off and soon forgot all about it. Or atleast at the time I thought both of us forgot about it. It is only few weeks later that I realised that Preeth had not taken my demand lightly!

A few days later one evening Preeth told me that he had been thinking seriously about my wish and that he had been working on his CV and was thinking of applying for jobs in India. I did not take the matter seriously. However, I gave him a thumbs up just as I would normally do when Preeth tells me about his ‘serious’ plans for our future. A couple of days later Preeth put in his application for a job in our hometown and rest is history! Preeth has been offered that job, and he will be starting the job in few months’ time. We are currently in India for a vacation and will be going back to UK early morning tomorrow only to pack our bags and return to India for good in couple of months’ time. My 10th anniversary gift was indeed the best gift ever and one that I will remember forever!!!!!!

 

5 thoughts on “Anniversary

  1. kentuckygal50 April 1, 2016 / 9:21 pm

    Hi Pia, I’m following your blog from the A to Z Challenge. Wow…that was (is) an AMAZING gift! We’re finally in a house (it once belonged to my husband’s paternal grandmother) with our kids (2 boys – 19 and 17 and one girl – 13.) Oh my goodness, that’s three teenagers at one time! *lol*

    Are you writing around a theme on your A to Z posts or going where inspiration and creativity take you? Both ways can have amazing results. I’m taking popular songs and making up words about the A to Z to go along with the music.

    LuAnn (approx #374 on the list) @ Back Porchervations.
    (and one of co-host AJ Lauer’s #wHooligans)

    • Truly Happy April 4, 2016 / 3:36 pm

      Hello LuAnn,

      Welcome to my blog! Thank you for reading and commenting on my post!

      3 Teenagers!! You must be a super mum. I will surely take some time to read your blog. I love music and theme you’ve chosen for the challenge appeals to me. I think its great.

      I am just going to write about things that touch my life. Yes, as you rightly said I am going to allow inspiration drive me through this challenge.

      Thanks once again.

      Pia.

  2. claowue April 1, 2016 / 10:24 pm

    Sometimes there are wishes one even don’t realize they are there. It’s great that it came out into daylight at the right time and you can make it come true. Just luck or destiny? Who knows…

    • Truly Happy April 4, 2016 / 3:38 pm

      Hello Claowue, true! I am glad my wish is coming true. I just hope it is the right decision and things work out well for my family just as we want them to be or even better.

      Pia

  3. My Era April 5, 2016 / 4:13 am

    You made a sincere wish and the universe chose to conspire to make it come true.
    Wishing you the best of luck for the big move and I can’t wait to know all about how you’re settling back in India 😀

Leave a Reply

