Kindness

This post is part of A to Z Challenge for April 2016. For letter K, I am choosing Kindness.

Kindness
Image Courtesy: Google

A to Z Challenge April 2016:  K for Kindness

One evening Bambi and I were playing 100 pieces puzzle. Bambi was helping me with a keen interest to complete the puzzle by passing on pieces that she felt were fitting rightly with each other. When we had nearly joined all pieces of the puzzle, all of a sudden Bambi started moving few pieces that were already in place with an intention to match them with the ones that were yet to be fitted – ‘I think this goes here. Amma look, I think this should go here’. I lost my temper at that and yelled at her for spoiling it all. Poor kid replied, “Amma, you have to be kind to others. I was only trying to help you.” I was deeply embarrassed for my behaviour. I apologised immediately and let Bambi join the pieces of the puzzle as she deemed right.

A while ago we read a book called ‘Mr Big’ by Ed Vere. The book is about Mr Big, who is a very big man and who is lonely because no one likes him and sticks around him. However, he later finds a lonely piano whom he befriends and together they make lovely music that reaches out to people and soon Mr Big isn’t lonely anymore. The book conveys the message that a true friend can come in any shape or size.  I vividly remember the first time we read the book, Bambi felt quite sad for Mr Big and she said, “I like Mr Big. Why does no one want to be his friend?’’. I thought that was a kind thing to say.

Just this gone weekend, I wanted to watch some TV in the afternoon while Bambi was playing with her toys. Just as I started watching my show Bambi wanted me to change the channel to play her cartoons. Now, this is not the first time that Bambi has done this. Anytime Preeth and I want to watch our shows she insists we play some cartoons instead. So this time I decided not to give in to her demand and carried on watching my show. But Bambi wasn’t giving up either. After few seconds I got very annoyed and changed to cartoon channel and left the room angrily. Bambi followed me out of the room and said, “I am sorry Amma. You can watch TV now. I have had a long time on TV this morning.’’ This kid amazes me. She is only 4 and a bit but has maturity of a grown up. She had not had any turn on the TV but she was saying that just to make me happy. Once again, I was deeply embarrassed for my behaviour.

Bambi has always been a kind hearted child. Even from a very young age she was always willing to readily share her toys with other kids. At park I have always seen her wait for her turn on the slide and swing. If any other kid wants to have a turn before her, she lets them have it readily and I have noticed, this makes her happy. That goes to show that being kind to others makes you happier.  Kindness is love in action and we just need a heart to give it out.

 

4 thoughts on “Kindness

  1. Nuttie Natters April 14, 2016 / 10:52 am

    She is so sweet. Kids this age can amaze you with their sensitivity

  2. My Era April 14, 2016 / 1:00 pm

    It is the beauty of her heart, her determination to be kind and her love to see everyone around happy that she goes out of her way to ensure ‘kindness’ prevails and is practiced.
    Bambi is amazing. Please pass my love to the little darling ❤

  3. claowue April 14, 2016 / 8:28 pm

    That’s great of Bambi. To notice your feelings and to stop doing what she loves to do to make you happy. Wonderful.

Leave a Reply

