Lessons Learned

This post is part of A to Z Challenge for April 2016. For letter L, I am choosing Lessons.

Image Courtesy : Google
Image Courtesy : Google

A to Z Challenge April 2016:  L for Lessons Learned

‘’Who is your favourite teacher?’’, I asked Bambi one day.

‘’You, Amma’’, came the reply.

‘’I meant Teacher, your favourite teacher’’, I clarified.

‘’You, Amma. You teach me how to do things, you teach me many things, you are my teacher, you are my favourite teacher’’, replied Bambi.

Aww I was very touched by this. I wasn’t expecting to hear that though.

Bambi may well think that I am her teacher, her favorite teacher but the truth is being her Mommy I have learnt so many lessons than ever before. Today I want to share a few life lessons that I have learned from Bambi:

  •  Whenever Bambi has a fall or a bruise she looks for a hug and kiss just as most kids her age do. Although she appreciates Mommy’s magic hug or kiss isn’t that magical, she says it reduces the pain to a level that is tolerable. Lessons Learned: When you encounter pain in life, seek love from your near and dear ones. They cannot take your pain away but their love will certainly make it bearable.
  • Watching a row of marching ants, watching a butterfly flit from one flower to other, catching bugs in the garden, watching the moon as we walk and wonder if he is following us; then stopping to see if the moon stops too and then once again start to walk and enjoy the company of moon, Watching a bunch of squirrels chasing one another in the tree, watching the neighbour’s black cat sleep on the bonnet of the car or under the car, watching the cat jump from the fence – these are some of the things that make Bambi crazy with excitement.  Lesson Learned: Happiness lies in little things around you. Look around, do not miss them.
  • Bambi can spend hours with me and Preeth playing hide and seek , tag , board games, painting, doing crafts, cooking, baking, reading books, writing stories, pretend plays. We can do this all day and she will still want to do more in the evenings. But when I am engrossed in work and if she is asked to play with her toys she is quickly bored. Not just the two of us, I have noticed the same when Bambi’s friends come over or when she goes to her friends place. Bambi enjoys people’s company more than toys. The joy of being with a near and dear one is far greater than with toys or gadgets or TV. Lesson learned: Relationships matter more than any fancy material  possession. 
  •  As I mentioned in my previous post, Bambi is happy to share her toys with others. She is happy to let others have a turn on toys or slides or swing before her. Lesson Learned: It is easy to be kind and being Kind to others makes you happier.
  •  Bambi returned from school one day and said, ‘’Emily is not my best friend anymore’’. Seemingly they had had a fight over who gets to sit first on one particular chair in their classroom. Next morning when I dropped her off to school the first thing she did was go and find Emily in the class and they were friends again. This has happened on few occasions – ‘Emily pulled my toy today.’’ ‘Emily didn’t want to play with me today’ so on and so forth. Despite all this, ask Bambi who her best friend is and the answer is Emily.   Lesson learned:. Forget the petty fights and disagreements. They shouldn’t come in the way of your friendship.  
  •  Preeth and I have put Bambi through many changes. Bambi has been going to day care since she was 10 months old. From day care 1 to Day care 2 to preschool. Bambi has come a long way. During this period many day care staff have come and gone, many friends have come and gone but Bambi has always gone with the flow. She has always welcomed change. Mre importantly, through all these changes Bambi has always been her happy self. Lesson Learned: Each moment is an opportunity to experience something new and learn something new. Live in the present moment.

 And the list goes on….I have come a long way in the last four years.  I have learnt so much from Bambi and I am still learning each day.

4 thoughts on “Lessons Learned

  1. UpwardSpiral April 15, 2016 / 12:20 pm

    Brilliant post! 🙂 Children can truly teach us a lot! As we get older and less innocent, the cynicism that is the quintessence of adulthood really tends to cloud our senses. Great that you’re continuously learning!

  2. patgarcia April 15, 2016 / 4:09 pm

    Excellent. It is through the eyes of children that we discover what forgiveness and love is all about.

    Shalom,
    Patricia @ EverythingMustChange

  3. Nuttie Natters April 15, 2016 / 8:23 pm

    I read a quote once as we try to teach our children all about life, our children teach us what life is about!

Leave a Reply

