Relocation

This post is part of A to Z Challenge for April 2016. For letter R, I am choosing Relocation.

relocation

A to Z Challenge April 2016:  R for Relocation

The biggest thing on my mind these days is our relocation plan. The plan was conceived exactly a year ago on our 10th anniversary when I had asked Preeth, relocating to India as my gift.

12 years ago when Preeth and I first met, Preeth had been living in the UK for about 5 years then. I was living in India and had never travelled abroad. It was Preeth’s higher education that initially brought him to the UK and later it was his job that kept him in the UK. Marriage brought me to UK and 11 years have passed by since. However, Preeth and I have always wanted to return to India for good.

And so, exactly a year ago, we committed ourselves to return back to India this year. From that day onwards, we have really only been working towards this goal. First and foremost Preeth started looking for a job in India. We were lucky that he was able to find a nice job pretty much straight away. I have been enhancing my experience, knowledge and skills so as to shape my career to make it attractive to prospective employers in India. We started looking for schools for Bambi too and we are glad that she has got admission in a good school. So, big things all sorted. Still a plenty of other things remain to be sorted out .

I finally handed in my resignation to my boss yesterday. It was quite hard for me because if it was not for relocation, I would not have quit this job so soon. Strangely, instead of feeling happy and liberated because relocating to India is what I have really ever wanted, I feel quite sad and emotional. The reality has only just sunk in and I hope we have taken the right decision. Afterall, we are giving up an entire life, a well settled life, built here in the UK to start a new life in India.

The 3 month countdown to relocation has begun and there is an awful lot to do: Shutting down everything here and starting up fresh in India. I hope all goes well. I plan to start a relocation chronicle in the following weeks.  For now, I will call it a day.

 

 

4 thoughts on “Relocation

  1. Nuttie Natters April 22, 2016 / 4:39 am

    Good luck! If i remember right, you are moving here to namma bengaluru? Let me know if i can help you in anyway.

    • Truly Happy April 22, 2016 / 12:11 pm

      Thank you so much. You are very kind. You have offered to help even before. Sorry I didn’t reply then as I am hoping to reply to all my comments post the challenge.
      I think I’ll surely need help. I shall be in touch with you. Who knows? I could be coming with you (only if you wish to take me with you) on your next girlie day out where (i still am in awe of it) you talk from 4am one day to 6am next day!! 🙂 😉

  2. Sharlene April 22, 2016 / 5:44 pm

    Your story is quite similar to mine! My husband (then boyfriend) was in the US for a master’s and later work. When we got married, I moved over here with him. And we have been here about 7 years now. But returning to Singapore is always on our mind, especially as our parents get older! Good luck with your move!

  3. Truly Happy May 15, 2016 / 3:46 am

    Thanks Sharlene. For the last so many years we have been saying we will return home in two years time and two years have stretched to 11 years. So this time we thought its now or never and hence took the big decision to return to India.

Leave a Reply

