The Good Bunny Who Never Gives Up

 

good bunny.png
Image Courtesy: Google

A Good Bunny Never Gives Up

A while ago, one evening Bambi was playing with Preeth’s glasses. Just few days prior to that she had been playing with another set of glasses when they slipped off her hands and fell down to the ground and broke into pieces. I didn’t want this happening again.  So I politely asked Bambi to keep the glasses back but Bambi didn’t listen. I repeated myself couple more times but Bambi just wouldn’t listen.  Then I decided to go up to her and take the glasses from her hands when she started running around the house with the glasses and I began to chase her. Finally, when I got hold of Bambi she held on very tightly to the glasses refusing to give them to me and as I tried to loosen her fist she said, “A good bunny never gives up!” I was beyond impressed to hear that and I let my cheeky bunny play with the glasses with a word of caution to not to drop it down again.

At the time I didn’t realise that Bambi had picked up this line from the cartoon Peter Rabbit whose signature words are “A good rabbit never gives up”. Still, I think the fact that Bambi had used this line appropriately is very impressive!

Today was one such day when my good bunny did not want to give up on something that she had decided she was going to do:  As I picked her up from school, Bambi said she wanted to make chocolate brownies as soon as we get home.  I agreed to make them over the coming weekend but Bambi had made up her mind that the brownies would have to be baked today and so no amount of cajoling was helping to distract her.

There was no way I was going to bake Brownies on a weekday and upset our routine. We didn’t have all the required ingredients either. So I kept dismissing the idea of baking and Bambi kept insisting that we baked them today.  She even had a big meltdown and ultimately I decided to give in.  Soon we were off to the nearby store to buy cooking chocolate and caster sugar. On our way to the shop, a happy Bambi said, “I am sorry Mummy. I wasn’t understanding what you were saying. But a good bunny never gives up! Are you sorry too? ”.  🙂 🙂

The next hour and a bit we spent melting the chocolate and butter and mixing all the ingredients and clicking few pictures. As the brownie was baking, I quickly fed Bambi her dinner and also gave her a shower. Then she sat on the rocking chair in the living room watching TV while the brownie was cooling down.  After few minutes as the brownies cooled down, I went to the living room to tell Bambi that the brownies were ready to tuck into,but my good bunny was fast asleep on the rocking chair…..ZZzzzzz…uh..oh..

As I write this post, I can’t help but think of all the pending household chores, no packed lunch for tomorrow and a missed bedtime routine.  But of course the sight and smell of the chocolate brownies baked by my “good bunny, who never gives up” brings a huge smile on my face 🙂 !

5 thoughts on “The Good Bunny Who Never Gives Up

  1. claowue May 5, 2016 / 5:15 pm

    I have to remember this sentence. I love it! We should use it all from time to time. 👍

    • Truly Happy May 15, 2016 / 3:24 am

      True. Its a life lesson I took from Bambi to not to give up before trying.

  2. My Era May 11, 2016 / 6:44 pm

    Lots of love to the good bunny Bambi ❤
    Please tell her she's a rock-star.

  3. Kiersten May 30, 2016 / 8:41 am

    I could not resist commenting. Well written!

Leave a Reply

