A clever and busy mind

Brain,training and hurt knee
Image Courtesy: http://lastlemon.com/happiness/ (EDITED)

Clever and Busy Mind

It is Bambi’s bed time. I switch off the lights and start singing a lullaby. After few minutes I notice Bambi is still wide awake staring at the glow stickers on the ceiling:

Me: Come on close your eyes now. Birds have all gone to bed and so must we.

Bambi: But I cannot sleep today.

Me: Why not?

Bambi: My brain is not switched off yet.

Me: * thinking whoa!*  What do you mean?

Bambi: I meeean my brain is still switched on.

Me: * still thinking what that means?*.  OK, shall I switch it off then?

I press Bambi’s forehead with my index finger pretending to turn a switch off.

Me: There you go, I have just turned the brain switch off for the night.

Bambi: But brain cannot be switched off like that. My brain is still on.

Me: * Thinking even harder what all this means*. Why not? What is your brain doing now?

Bambi: It is thinking of all that I did today. I played with Isha, Natalie, Gemma and Lucy today. Lucy is not Ella’s friend anymore. Can she come to our house one day? Can we have double play date? Can Isha come too? 

Me: * interrupting the yack*  OK ok… I get it now. Don’t talk. Just close your eyes tight.  

Bambi: You ruined the switch now. My brain is not thinking anymore.

Me:  Raa Ree Raa Rum O RaaRee Rum….Raa Ree Raa Rum O RaareeRum…..

Soon Bambi was fast asleep. Agree with you my child, highlights of the day come to our mind before we drift off. Sorry to have interrupted but you sure needed to sleep by then.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

As Preeth and I were having our breakfast Bambi who had just finished her breakfast, wanted me to play snake and ladders with her.

Me: Let me finish my breakfast Bambi. I promise I will play with you afterwards.

Bambi: But what shall I do now?

Me: Play with some other toy.

Bambi: Which toy?

Me: Any toy. You have plenty.

Bambi: But I haven’t been trained to play alone.

Me: * Silence*

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Bambi had a fall in the playground and hurt her knee. Thankfully she was alright. Few minutes later:

Bambi: I think my knee is fractured. I need a cast. Will you draw on my cast? Will my friends draw on my cast?

Me: You are fine. There isn’t a fracture.

Bambi: There is! See *points to her knee*

Me: nah…it’s not a fracture. I can give you an icepack when we get home.

Bambi: It is a fracture. It isssss. See how red my knee is?

Me: No it  isn’t red.

Bambi: It is.

Me: Where?

Bambi: It is a different red. Only I can see it!

Me: * Yeah right!*

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

 

5 thoughts on “A clever and busy mind

  1. BellyBytes June 8, 2016 / 1:01 am

    You have one really smart little girl. Truly , out of the mouth of babes. What delightful conversations you are having with your 4 year old . They always bring a smile to my face

  2. Truly Happy June 8, 2016 / 6:38 am

    Yes,conversations with Bambi are fun. I am amazed at how the little mind works. Thank you so much for your kind words.

  3. kavitaparvathi June 9, 2016 / 2:33 pm

    Aww that’s such a sweet converse.. Indeed kids these days are smarter..

Leave a Reply

